Help with Bibliographies
Library Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- use subject terms to modify the search, e.g., "climatic changes", "global warming", and "global temperature changes"
- "Preferences" - change display from "brief" to "detailed" to include the abstracts in the results list
- "Get Full Text" - the full text of some articles may be online in other databases or available in print/microfilm in the library.
- LexisNexis Academic
- select the "News" tab
- scroll down the drop-down list of sources -- search for articles about higher education and college campuses in:
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- University Wire - provides access to select articles from student newspapers
- scroll down the drop-down list of sources -- search for articles about higher education and college campuses in:
- select the "Sources" tab - change to "United States" and change the next drop-down which appears to "Florida"
- select the "News" folder
- check the box for "Florida News Sources" and on the right side of screen "Continue" to bring up the General search form with sources to be searched set to "Florida News Sources"
- instead of searching all Florida news sources, you could open the "Newspapers" folder to limit your search to a specific paper, e.g. St. Petersburg Times, Palm Beach Post
- check the box for "Florida News Sources" and on the right side of screen "Continue" to bring up the General search form with sources to be searched set to "Florida News Sources"
- select the "News" folder
- looking at the search results
- left column includes options for displaying results by Subject, Publication, etc.
- top of results column includes options for displaying "Expanded List" to include keywords-in-context, and "Relevance" to move the results with more keyword hits to the top of the list
- LexisNexis Academic Research Guide includes links to specific Florida news sources
- select the "News" tab
- News & Newspapers
- Orlando Sentinel via NewsBank - provides full-text articles back to 1985
- current database trial for other resources in NewsBank provides access to hundreds of additional newspapers and other news sources, including Tallahassee Democrat
- Orlando Sentinel via NewsBank - provides full-text articles back to 1985
- Education databases
Florida Government, Laws, Regulations
NOTE: sometimes the best access to what is happening in government is found in the news stories -- see the database resources above.
- Florida Government Accountability Report (OPPAGA)
- Online Sunshine
- Florida Senate provides searchable access to proposed bills
- Current Laws & Regulations
- Florida Statutes - laws
- Florida Administrative Code - regulations
Education -- Government Sources
Govt Information Librarian |
Rich GauseContact Info:
Contact via Ask A Librarian
407-823-2562
Send Email
Subjects:
Florida, Government, International, Statistical Data, Business, History, Criminal Justice, Political Science, Public Administration, Social Justice, Legal Studies, Theatre
Collection liaison for
Theatre
Contact via Ask A Librarian
407-823-2562
Send Email
Subjects:
Florida, Government, International, Statistical Data, Business, History, Criminal Justice, Political Science, Public Administration, Social Justice, Legal Studies, Theatre
Collection liaison for
Theatre

Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait